Thursday, May 19, 2016

What should I read next?


So blogging friends, I started the year amazingly and was on a high with my choices, the past 3 have been torture and I have wasted a month.  I am even behind 2 reviews now because I just don't want to review them.  My goal this year was to review all.

Please help with what I should read next please.  These are my ideas:

Poll is on sidebar, please choose 1 or  2.

1) Brother by Ania Ahlborn



From the bestselling horror author of Within These Walls and The Bird Eater comes a brand-new novel of terror that follows a teenager determined to break from his family’s unconventional—and deeply disturbing—traditions.

Deep in the heart of Appalachia stands a crooked farmhouse miles from any road. The Morrows keep to themselves, and it’s served them well so far. When girls go missing off the side of the highway, the cops don’t knock on their door. Which is a good thing, seeing as to what’s buried in the Morrows’ backyard.

But nineteen-year-old Michael Morrow isn’t like the rest of his family. He doesn’t take pleasure in the screams that echo through the trees. Michael pines for normalcy, and he’s sure that someday he’ll see the world beyond West Virginia. When he meets Alice, a pretty girl working at a record shop in the small nearby town of Dahlia, he’s immediately smitten. For a moment, he nearly forgets about the monster he’s become. But his brother, Rebel, is all too eager to remind Michael of his place…




2)  me before you by Jojo Moyes





They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsMe Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?




3)  The Girl you Lost by Kathryn Croft




Eighteen years ago your baby daughter was snatched. Today, she came back.

A sinister and darkly compelling psychological thriller from the No.1 bestselling author of The Girl With No Past.

Eighteen years ago, Simone Porter’s six-month-old daughter, Helena, was abducted. Simone and husband, Matt, have slowly rebuilt their shattered lives, but the pain at losing their child has never left them.

Then a young woman, Grace, appears out of the blue and tells Simone she has information about her stolen baby. But just who is Grace – and can Simone trust her?

When Grace herself disappears, Simone becomes embroiled in a desperate search for her baby and the woman who has vital clues about her whereabouts.

Simone is inching closer to the truth but it’ll take her into dangerous and disturbing territory. 

Simone lost her baby. Will she lose her life trying to find her?





4)  Don't you cry by Mary Kubica




In downtown Chicago, a young woman named Esther Vaughan disappears from her apartment without a trace. A haunting letter addressed to My Dearest is found among her possessions, leaving her friend and roommate Quinn Collins to wonder where Esther is and whether or not she's the person Quinn thought she knew.

Meanwhile, in a small Michigan harbor town an hour outside Chicago, a mysterious woman appears in the quiet coffee shop where eighteen-year-old Alex Gallo works as a dishwasher. He is immediately drawn to her charm and beauty, but what starts as an innocent crush quickly spirals into something far more dark and sinister than he ever expected.

As Quinn searches for answers about Esther, and Alex is drawn further under the stranger's spell, master of suspense Mary Kubica takes readers on a taut and twisted thrill ride that builds to a stunning conclusion and shows that no matter how fast and far we run, the past always catches up with us in the end.




5)  The Guest Room by Chris Bohjalian





When Kristin Chapman agrees to let her husband, Richard, host his brother’s bachelor party, she expects a certain amount of debauchery. She brings their young daughter to Manhattan for the evening, leaving her Westchester home to the men and their hired entertainment. What she does not expect is this: bacchanalian drunkenness, her husband sharing a dangerously intimate moment in the guest room, and two women stabbing and killing their Russian bodyguards before driving off into the night.

In the aftermath, Kristin and Richard’s life rapidly spirals into nightmare. The police throw them out of their home, now a crime scene, Richard’s investment banking firm puts him on indefinite leave, and Kristin is unsure if she can forgive her husband for the moment he shared with a dark-haired girl in the guest room. But the dark-haired girl, Alexandra, faces a much graver danger. In one breathless, violent night, she is free, running to escape the police who will arrest her and the gangsters who will kill her in a heartbeat. A captivating, chilling story about shame and scandal, The Guest Room is a riveting novel from one of our greatest storytellers



20 comments:

  1. I've read Me Before You and loved it but I don't think it's your kind of book so I vote for The Guest Room.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Funny. I threw that one in Kathy. Thanks for your vote.

      Delete
  2. I've only read of Me Before You and it's a romance. It was a bit much for me. Brother sounds interesting to me. Good luck.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I probably won't go the romance. Brother is calling my name the most so far.

      Delete
  3. The Girl You Lost Sounds good, I just finished No Other Darkness and it only took ky 3 mos :D Really it's pitiful but I've been forcing myself to read in hopes the mojo would come back. It was a good book I jusr have no desire to read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have been missing you hon. Love your venting posts. Do you still post on your scrapbooking blog?

      Delete
    2. Yes all the time :) I just don't have it in my to even review. Oh well...

      Delete
  4. i haven't heard of the author before but "Brothers" sounds like a page-turner!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't either Nicola. Brother has intrigued me the most.

      Delete
  5. I've only read Me Before You and oh, the other books all sound so good! I'll go for Brother and The Guest Room. I know I'm cheating but it's so hard to choose one! ;-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is hard to choose 2 but those are the one's I am considering.

      Delete
  6. Oh that's rubbish - I've voted as I've read three of these and enjoyed two - I didn't rate the Kathryn Croft too highly but others did...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for voting Cleo...... we will see what wins. I'm leaning towards Brother at the moment.

      Delete
  7. I read Brother. Eek. If it gets picked, I'll be interested to hear your thoughts (though I'm not voting for it). I've also read Don't You Cry. The ending was awesome, though overall not as suspenseful as her previous books. I enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I loved Me Before You, but like Kathy said, it may not be your kind of book. Mary Kubica sounds fascinating though - so that's my vote.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I voted for Me Before You simply because it is the only book I was overly familiar with. lol The Guest Room would probably be good, too, though. He usually writes good books!

    ReplyDelete
  10. The only one I've read is Me Before You - I liked it and it read quickly, but it was one where I could just FEEL the emotional manipulation on each page. I've read Mary Kubica's first book and was super disappointed with it.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Currently readying,Don't You Cry by Mary Kubica and I love it.I vote for that then Guest Room,The Girl you lost,Brother(I need to find these three,they sound like my kind of books).I liked Me Before You but you seem to be more into psychological thrillers than romance.Beautiful book though.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Currently readying,Don't You Cry by Mary Kubica and I love it.I vote for that then Guest Room,The Girl you lost,Brother(I need to find these three,they sound like my kind of books).I liked Me Before You but you seem to be more into psychological thrillers than romance.Beautiful book though.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Wow. Such varied choices! I would say go with Brother as I think it is the one you would enjoy most. If you want an UGLY cry, the worst in your life, then go for the Jojo Moyes.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for visiting Tea Time with Marce, I appreciate your comments. I have decided to make this an Award Free Zone, thank you for thinking of me but I prefer comments and do my best to be a good networking blogging friend also.

If you are a new follower, please tell me so I can come visit also.